EXCHANGE OF VIEWS ON THE FUTURE OF COHESION POLICY

For a strengthened post-2027 cohesion and growth policy with regions at the centre

2ND OCTOBER 2024, 14:30-16:30 | BRUSSELS EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT - ROOM ASP 1G2

Ahead of the Commissioner Designate hearings, this event constitutes an important milestone for regional advocacy with 134 European regions coming together to support a strengthened cohesion policy for post-2027.

This call to action aims at achieving a robust budget for future cohesion policy, putting regions at the centre in both the design and implementation of the structural funds. This initiative is in line with the Cohesion Alliance and other current regional initiatives supporting cohesion.

We value the partnership with the European Parliament for a renewed cohesion policy- the main, long term, place-based investment policy which contributes to the European integration process.

AGENDA

	OPENING SESSION: Welcome and introduction
14:30-14:50	Younous Omariee, Vice-President of the European Parliament
	Antonella Sberna, Vice-President of the European Parliament
	Alain Rousset, President of the Nouvelle-Aquitaine Region (France)
	INPUTS FROM THE REGIONS
14:50-15:20	Olgierd Geblewicz, President, Western Pomerania R(Poland)
	 Miguel Corgos, Regional Minister for Finance of the Galician Government (Spain) Niina Pautola-Mol, Regional Mayor, Region of Päijät-Häme (Finland)
	Vladimíra Vydrová, Mayor of Chorvátsky Grob and member of Bratislava regional assembly (Slovakia)
	• Emil Boc, Chair of the COTER Committee, European Committee of the Regions
	Bettina Martin, Minister for Science, Culture, Federal and European Affairs of
	Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (Germany) - video statement
	Paolo Calvano, Regional Minister for EU affairs, Emilia-Romagna Region (Italy) - video statement
	Moderated by Joanna Kubiak, Acting Director of the Wielkopolska Region Brussels Office
	STATEMENTS FROM MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT
15:20-15:50	Dragos Benea, President of the REGI Committee
	Janusz Lewandowski & Giuseppe Lupo, Vice-presidents of the BUDG Committee
	Marcos Ros Sempere, S&D coordinator of the REGI Committee
	Andrey Novakov, EPP coordinator of the REGI Committee
	Isabel Benjumea Benjumea, EPP vice-coordinator of BUDG committee & ECON member
	Moderated by Lorenza Badiello, Director of the Emilia-Romagna Delegation to the EU
15:50-16:20	DEBATE AMONG REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES AND MEMBER OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT Moderated by Lorenza Badiello , Director of the Emilia-Romagna Delegation to the EU

- Nora Mebarek, Vice-president of the REGI Committee
- Alain Rousset, President of the Nouvelle-Aquitaine Region (France)

PARTICIPANTS TO THE DEBATE

REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

Finland	Niina Pautola-Mol, Regional Mayor, Region of Päijät-Häme
	Alain Rousset, President, Nouvelle-Aquitaine Region
	Valérie Debord, First Vice-President in charge of employment, training, apprenticeships and higher education, Grand Est Region
France	• Patrick Molinoz, Vice-President in charge of Digital Transitions, Innovation, European Policies, International Actions and Export, Bourgogne Franche-Comté Region
	• Wilfrid Bertile, Councillor in charge of European affairs and regional cooperation, Réunion Region
	Karine Gloanec-Maurin, Councillor for Europe, European cooperation and international economic
	exchanges, Centre-Val de Loire Region
	Clare Bannon, Acting Director, Eastern and Midland Regional Assembly
Ireland	David Kelly, Director, Southern Regional Assembly
	Paddy Austin, Assistant Director, Northern and Western Regional Assembly
Italy	Fulvio Bonavitacola, Vice-President and Regional Minister for Environment, Campania Region
	Francesco Raphael Frieri, Director General, Emilia-Romagna Region
	Olgierd Geblewicz, President, Western Pomerania Region
	Marcin Kuchciński, President, Warminsko-Mazurskie Region
Poland	Wladyslaw Ortyl, President, Podkarpackie Region
	Witold Kozłowski, Vice-President, Małopolska Region
Slovakia	Vladimíra Vydrová, Mayor of Chorvátsky Grob and member of Bratislava regional assembly
Spain	Miguel Corgos, Regional Minister for Finance, Galician Government

MEMBERS OF EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

Bulgaria	Andrey Novakov, REGI member, EPP coordinator
Finland	Sebastian Tynkkynen, member of AFET and substitute in LIBE committee (ECR)
	Younous Omarjee, Vice-President of the European Parliament (The Left)
	Nora Mebarek, Vice-president of the REGI Committee (S&D)
France	Laurence Farreng, substitute member of EMPL (Renew)
	Claire Fita, ECON member (S&D)
	Isabelle Le Callenec, REGI member (EPP)
	• Julien Sanchez, BUDG member (PfE)
	Eric Sargiacomo, AGRI and PECH member (S&D)
Italy	Antonella Sberna, Vice-President of the European Parliament (ECR)
	Giuseppe Lupo, Vice-president of the BUDG Committee (S&D)
	Raffaele Topo, member EMPL and REGI, substitute BUDG (S&D)
	Valentina Palmisano, REGI member (GUE)
	Benedetta Scuderi, substitute member of EMPL (Greens)
	Stefano Bonaccini, AGRI member (S&D)
	Stefano Cavedagna, ENVI member (ECR)
	Janusz Lewandowski, Vice-president of the BUDG Committee (EPP)
	Andrzej Bula, member EMPL & substitute member of REGI (EPP)
	Krzysztof Hetman, member REGI (EPP)
Poland	Marlena Maląg, EMPL & ECON member (ECR)
	Jacek Protas, substitute member of BUDG & REGI (EPP)
	Bogdan Rzońca, BUDG member (ECR)
	Beata Szydło, substitute member of BUDG (ECR)
	Adam Jarubas, Chair Subcommittee on Public Health (EPP)

Romania	•	Dragos Benea, President of the REGI Committee (S&D)
Slovakia	•	Lucia Yar, member BUDG (Renew)
	•	Branislav ONDRUŠ (NA)
	•	Marcos Ros Sempere, REGI member, S&D coordinator
Spain	•	Isabel Benjumea Benjumea, EPP vice-coordinator of BUDG committee, member of ECON (EPP)
	•	Maravillas ABADÍA JOVER, member EMPL & substitute member REGI (EPP)
	•	Borja GIMÉNEZ LARRAZ, TRAN member (EPP)
	•	Francisco Millán Mon, AFET & PECH member (EPP)
	•	Elena Nevado Del Campo, REGI member (EPP)